Warner Bros Wants to Show us ‘The Sky is Everywhere’

the-sky-is-everywhere-by-jandy-nelson-wallpaper

by: S. Scott Stanikmas

Showing that they don’t just do superhero films, Warner Bros has just recently optioned the young adult novel The Sky Is Everywhere.

The Hollywood Reporter recently got word that author Jandy Nelson’s 2010 debut novel has been picked up by the studio.

In the book, a high school student has to deal with the sudden loss of her sister. In her grief she finds herself attracted to two men. One is her sister’s boyfriend, who shares her grief and understands her loss. The other is a new arrival to her life that offers hope and a brighter path for her future.

This sounds like WB is looking to cash in on the recent string of teenage tear-jerker emotional films in the vein of The Fault in Our Stars and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl.

The book was on the longlist for the Carnegie Medal when it debuted. It has since been translated into over a dozen languages.

Nelson’s follow-up book, 2014’s I’ll Give You The Sun, was also picked up by Warner Bros prior to them getting The Sky Everywhere.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s